The Root

One gardener’s quest to get to the bottom of it all.

Conditioning Sprouts March 30, 2008

I have been frustrated by the recent snow, but my seedlings are doing better than ever, thanks in part to a noisy little fan. Neville finally pointed out how comical it is when I power that baby up and the sprouts begin to wobble in panic like a crowd of puppets (“She’s put on the fan again! Grow!! Grow!!!”) But hey, they’re so much stronger for it. At least I know I won’t lose any to wind.

fan-on.jpg

The one problem I haven’t been able solve is mold growth, even though I dutifully water from the bottom; and sprinkled cinnamon on the soil, and dusted everything with dried milk, both remedies for mold and fungus. I think these measures have cut down on the hairy freeloaders, but they’re not gone. At the moment there’s a downy gray posse encroaching on my Romaine. I guess I could be glad that there’s something to do while the snow clears.

 

4 Responses to “Conditioning Sprouts”

  1. concretegardening Says:

    I don’ t have any advice for you, but I just wanted to say – fantastic logo! =) The fan idea is wicked. I’ll be sure to use that in the future.

  2. Kate Says:

    Thanks, it took all day yesterday, but now the site’s a lot easier on the eye!

  3. […] for a while there I felt like I was growing pastry, what with all the cinnamon and milk. But last night I planted some more seeds and, for now, the soil outweighs the spices and potions. […]

  4. Katelyn Says:

    I always got mold on my plants that I started indoors as well, but it never did them any harm. It just looked pretty ugly!


Leave a Reply

