The Root

One gardener’s quest to get to the bottom of it all.

I’m Gonna Pants Old Man Winter April 4, 2008

Snowy Garden in April It’s supposed to be spring, fucker

Here is the garden I sowed yesterday in the sunlight. See the arable soil, the neat row markers? Oh, wait, that’s right; you can hardly make it out through ALL THAT EFFING SNOW. I know, Old Man, why don’t you throw a fresh inch our way? We haven’t had nearly enough white stuff in the last SIX MONTHS.

I’ve got a real bone to pick. You’ve been laying it on pretty thick, and now this heavy-handed mockery of spring is enough to make me throw down. I’m this close to igniting everybody’s woolly underpinnings.

 

2 Responses to “I’m Gonna Pants Old Man Winter”

  1. merlotmudpies Says:

    i am laughing even though this is clearly soooo not funny! i am sending sunny california warming vibes your way.

  2. Kate Says:

    Thanks, merlot — California sounds particularly good right now. Guess it’ll take a couple days for the vibes to travel cross country…meanwhile I’m killing my indoor sprouts with over-affection. They’re so sick of me; they’re teenagers.


Leave a Reply

