The Root

One gardener’s quest to get to the bottom of it all.

The Plot Today April 6, 2008

Every story needs a good plot.

Here’s the plot today, seeds still slumbering. It’s only been a couple days since I planted them, but I’m so eager to see them pop, I had to sniff around for some green. Nothing doing, except for piles of crocuses and snowdrops abutting the wall.

I love this little plot; it’s so tidy and tucked away on a quiet wall of my folks’ house. I wasn’t planning on really “working the earth” this spring, because I was this close to covering everything with raised beds, but then I realized I could get some plants going right now, instead of waiting another week or two to pound nails. Then I went over on Wednesday, got a pitchfork, and once I started, I couldn’t stop; I turned over the entire bed, even though I still envision a raised plot (in the top righthand corner there). It was just so satisfying to dig into the ground again.

I remembered how much effort and compost and topsoil I put in last year, and for 90 minutes I didn’t have anything else in my head but garden plans. Then, leaving just enough room for a 4’x4′ raised bed, I planted along two edges of the plot: a dozen peas, 10 swiss chard, 20 radishes, and 20 spinach seeds. Later, in bed, I realized how quirky it was to have sown the same number of radish and spinach seeds. Assuming I’ll lose a third of the crop to wildlife and whatnot, it adds up to a couple side-dishes of radishes and enough spinach for a small wedding.

Neville called my cellphone; even before his greeting I heard Freya’s wail of hunger. It was boob time for baby. Can’t wait ’til I’m working the garden with baby nearby, in the sunshine.

 

Leave a Reply

