The Root

One gardener’s quest to get to the bottom of it all.

Loose Ends: Deck Garden May 3, 2008

Having yearned for rain, I’m feeling pretty fine that it has rained for days on end, so much so that I want to revise the adage to, “Late April and May showers bring flowers eventually.” The weather comes at a good time, too, since I’ve been feeling really under-the-weather. Would’ve been supremely frustrating to be confined to the condo while the sun shone. As it is, I’ve managed to get on top of some projects on my deck garden.

In between (or before?) rainstorms, I managed to waterproof this tile-sample plant stand. Now it’s out there beading away the rain. Wish I had a pot of strawberries to plunk down on top of it.

The faux-copper planters are standing up to the rain, too, and I’m pleased as punch. I filled the second and planted it with spinach and carrots.

The herbs out there have resisted frost damage really well. The lily lost a bud and is looking a little sickly, so I brought it back indoors full time. I have no idea if these extreme temperature changes will be even worse for it than the frost? Poor ting.

I haven’t been back to the plot to check on growth there. Tomorrow, maybe. I’m all excited to put down copper strips as a slug deterrent — it’s rumored to work better than beer traps. And: How swanky.

 

2 Responses to “Loose Ends: Deck Garden”

  1. zora naki Says:

    i love your little table. did the tiles come first or the table?

  2. Kate Says:

    The tile sample did — it was a bitch to find a table stand of the right dimensions!


Leave a Reply

