The Root

One gardener’s quest to get to the bottom of it all.

Submitting to the Square Foot Grid May 7, 2008

I know Freya far outshines the plants in this photo. She was looking at a tree that’s just starting to bud. Today, she was very serious and then again very easily persuaded to goofiness.

But, also, in the background, there, is the raised bed with its new grid. Mel Bartholomew is all about the grid in his books; in the beginning, I respected that, but really didn’t think it was necessary. I have a good eye for distances. And I wasn’t interested in nailing anything together (Mel’s all about laying down a sturdy, permanent grid). And the bed is so full of good dirt, it’s positively convexly piled up, and there was no way I was going to smoosh it down.

Then I sort of started to lose the overall plan of the thing, what was planted where on the four or five non-successive days that I direct-seeded, how many square feet I had left to plant, etc. So today I brought over some twine and nails and now feel like I have a better overview. Mel, this one’s for you.

 

2 Responses to “Submitting to the Square Foot Grid”

  1. Amy Says:

    She’s so cute – so intent on that tree! Your SFG looks great!

  2. Mel’s square foot system is my way to go too! The formula was right underneath all our noses, but he stepped up to the plate and I’m glad he did. My garden yields are multiplied because of it!
    Shirley


Leave a Reply

