The Root

One gardener’s quest to get to the bottom of it all.

Thrifty Potting Supplies: Good & Bad May 21, 2008

I am really liking these newspaper pots. My basil has been housed in them for a month and I can say with confidence that they are sturdy enough to last and are not very susceptible to mold. In fact, they’re more susceptible to drying out, and the roots are popping right through, but, hovering as I do over my greens, this has not presented a prob.

I am psyched to find a workable alternative to peat and plastic. Man, I could make tiny pots to germinate seeds — I have already scoped out a free local paper of suitable dimensions. (It’s all I can do not to start preparing for next spring right now.)

Less successful was my attempt to use uncooked pasta as labels. Ahem:

 

2 Responses to “Thrifty Potting Supplies: Good & Bad”

  1. concretegardening Says:

    Resourceful! LOVE IT. Next year I’m going to get myself grow lights and try to grow my own seedlings.

    Randomly, we ended up accepting a cat sitting assignment. (Well that’s not very random…) The staff member that we assigned to the client is also a huge gardener and has plots all over the city. We went to the client’s home for the initial feline meeting and it turns out that she’s visiting her mom in NY this week (hence her need of us) and her mom happens to grow heirloom seedlings for local markets in NY. She’s totally bringing us back heaps of seedlings! How freaking awesome!

  2. merlotmudpies Says:

    i LOVE the pasta idea…too bad it didn’t work out. i used CD’s but the ink fades off of them. made for some fun conversation in the plots, tho. and convinced quite a few folks that i’m plain crazy. hehe.


Leave a Reply

