The Root

One gardener’s quest to get to the bottom of it all.

More Plants. More Trellises. June 5, 2008

I have doubled my tomato crop and it’s all heirloom, all the time. I had a hunch, when I went to the farmers’ market yesterday, that I would come away several plants richer. Sure enough, I fell for a pair of Striped Germans. Those of you who know my propensity for German and…stripes…will not be surprised! I also bought a dill plant to replace the one from the kitchen spice rack that failed to thrive. Dill, take two.

Just a few hours later, they were all in the vineplot. I did something crazy and worked in the garden for two hours between bedding Freya down and making dinner. Driving home at 8 pm, I was like, “That was nuts; I’m starving and now I have feed Frey again and cook for 45 minutes.” But the concurrent realization was that I have to do crazy things like that in order to stay sane. It was OK. I pretty much enjoyed cooking and we ate at 10 pm while watching “Top Chef.” (Sometimes we say we should just move to Spain and make it official.)

What I also did in the vineplot was pound and drill the salvaged screen into place. Damn, if it doesn’t look kooky and good.

By the time I erected those, everything was joyous and restraint was fast disappearing. So I planted a couple humps of zucchini (why do they say to plant them around 12″ hills? I felt like I was molding massive prosthetic boobies). Then, I just went ahead and peppered the remaining spaces with basil, rainbow Swiss chard, red lettuce, and arugala. Those of you who saw my garden last year know this is a big departure for me. I used to follow seed packet instructions to the letter. 3′ rows! Thin to 2″! But I think those marching orders are more conducive to seed companies selling seed than backyard gardeners growing food. Now I just figure if I’m going to bust my hump building plots, I’m going to green them to the utmost.

We have a real issue with woodland herbivores, and no property fence to speak of, so, before I left for the night, I draped the whole plot with nylon netting. I’m so proud:

 

5 Responses to “More Plants. More Trellises.”

  1. Nancy Bond Says:

    Well done! What a lovely yard you have.

  2. Heather Says:

    The word boobies is an instant giggler in my world. Boobies! Boobies! Tee-hee, I am so 8 years old sometimes…

  3. Mrs Be Says:

    Didn’t know you were supposed to plant them on boobies (had a titter about that one too!).

    I’m very impressed by how much you manage to cram in.

  4. Daphne Gould Says:

    LOL. That was so funny. I like the look of your supports.

  5. zora naki Says:

    go you! reusing, recycling and repurposing – very impressive…


Leave a Reply

