The Root

One gardener’s quest to get to the bottom of it all.

Hunky Vegetables July 6, 2008

Today my mom and Freya stood by Vineplot for scale.

From back to front: four tomatillos, four tomatoes, four zucchinis. There’s also scads of baby lettuce, arugula, chard, and basil under the vine foliage. I have truly maxed out this little plot. I love how it looks, even if things get a little choked and don’t fruit much (do heirlooms bear less than hybrids, anyway?). It’s a micro jungle. And the tender “undergrowth” lettuces we have been eating are delicious. It’s such a departure from my garden last year, which was really undernourished and overburdened with slugs.

It’s another “test year.” And I actually have a hunch that every year will be a test year. It’s all about the process, yo, there will be no final-and-forever garden. Especially since I’m still breaking ground and rotating crops. Really like using farm terminology for my five square inches of farmland.

While waiting for my own veg to come in, I have continued buying at farmers’ markets and farmstands. Really just another part of the test process. Cocarde oakleaf lettuce? I don’t honestly taste a lot of difference between lettuces, but Cocarde scores major sexy points: lyrical name, deep color, robust shape. (Am I still writing about lettuce, or Raphael Nadal?) Costata Romanesco, a “nutty-flavored heirloom corgette”? I do believe I will. And save the seeds.

Eagerly awaiting Little Finger heirloom carrots…poor germination, but some are oranging now…

 

2 Responses to “Hunky Vegetables”

  1. Daphne Gould Says:

    My garden is always a test garden too. There are lots of tests of how to grow and different varieties and I already have some of next year’s tests in mind.

  2. Amy Says:

    Beautiful growth! I think each year my garden will have some tried and true but mostly test seeds…it’s fun to see what works and what doesn’t.

    And I love your mom’s hair, I’m eagerly awaiting being silvery haired 😀


Leave a Reply

