The Root

One gardener’s quest to get to the bottom of it all.

Oh, Girl! November 18, 2008

What a couple of incommunicado months. Sheesh. Is this still a blog? Yeah, but it’s a blog about a dedicated spring gardener who became an extremely negligent fall gardener.

(Wow, I had to test-drive that new feature! Nice.)

Dudes, I don’t even want to rehash the sad story of “the harvest.” In my case, it played out like a horror flick. Or, you know, I remember first hearing about the hunger-relief program Second Harvest — now, I’m confident that they work wonders, but, in my world, their name has always sounded like a euphemism for regurgitation. That’s how it was in my garden this fall, yo; harvest became a euphemism for what I was doing: clawing through blighted and blackened tomatoes just so I could salvage some seeds; letting the countless tomatilloes soften on the vine after determining that I don’t really like their taste. Then there was the lone pumpkin that harvested itself / fell to the ground, from whence I tried to gather it and instead came away with the softened stem in my hand (I lugged it home, anyway, where it turned foul within three days). Oh, the saga.

Well, it can’t get much worse next year! Optimism levels on the rebound. Should be good-to-go by springtime. I am seriously reconsidering what I will grow, though. I’ll always enjoy fresh salad greens, and having so much zucchini will always be a wonderful reason to bake more chocolate zucchini cake (kudos, kudos, kudos). But, the tomatoes? Sheesh, guys, I really didn’t dig them that much. They are, in my book, the most beautiful seedlings, and we did get some delicious mouthsful of the Black Krim that honestly did taste like red wine. But, holy crap, the blight! The interminable wait for the first ripe one! And then the same wait for the next! And then I just got thoroughly depressed by the idea of schlepping over to the plot again just to pick maybe one ‘mato that would end up mouldering on the countertop, anyway (why? They kind of give me indigestion after noon)!

I miserably failed at Tomato Husbandry, yo, and Pumpkin Husbandry was like a “D-“.

The wondrous counterweight to all the rampant garden negligence is the unstoppable thriving of babygirl Freya. She now eats with two fists; and has a sort-of wrinkled-nose, “Hey, I’m on to you!” expression, along with countless others; and crawls with such amazing gusto that you can hear her coming from two rooms away. Her first words after “Mama” and “Dada” were “Hi” and “Wow.” How wonderful is that. When we get up in the morning, she waves to the world outside the window. The girl literally greets the day. How amazing is she?

Last night I was trying to chop up some herbs with a dull knife and she got so excited about the big bunch of cilantro. At the risk of projecting too much of my own enthusiasms onto her young self, I dare say the girl likes green things.

Here’s to more goofy updates before the next growing season. Can’t wait to read what you all have been doing.

 

5 Responses to “Oh, Girl!”

  1. tina Says:

    Pretty goofy AND entertaining too.

  2. Heather Says:

    Hey you! Welcome back – I had about given you up as gone! Gak, each season is a mix of success and failure – this winter my greens and lettuces are huge and gorgeous but my beets and broccoli are small and sad (spinach nowhere to be found!). So it goes. Don’t give up on those ‘maters – we get serious blight here too, and this year I was damned determined to beat it and aside from the ones I left on the vine at the end of the season due to tomato fatigue and travel, we were in the clear. But I guess if they make your tum hurt even when perfectly ripe they might not be the veggie for you…think of all the space you’ll gain! Anyway, I am rambling…put up a picture of that bouncing baby girl, kids beat a garden any day.

  3. digthischick Says:

    hi there! welcome back. Yup, we all have our seasonal disappointments. And the story of the pumpkin…all proud of your one giant pumpkin and it just up and rotted on you. Bummer. I echo Heather. Let’s see that Freya

  4. Hi there root girl.

    Nice to see your posts – I haven’t posted for months either so will update soon. Our harvest was pretty good (on the fifth round of sewing carrots!)

    Your lady freya is coming on great. good to see. Our little one (Isabel Freya) is doing good too – 9 months – walking and jabbering! We’re going off the name Isa as trying to get people to pronounce it right is really irritating and we think we always preferred Freya anyway! So we might be joining you and you lass if that’s alright!!!

    See ya
    Nigeygreen

  5. cake Says:

    i’ve missed your blog. i love reading about the joy you have watching seedlings grow. i share that. i seriously check my indoor seed station about once every hour, to see if anything new has sprouted.

    my pumpkins were also a bust last year. crazy vines, not a single fruit. therefore, i am planting no winter squash or pumpkins of any sort this year. they are plentiful at the farmer’s market anyway, so why bother. course, i could say that for tomatoes, peppers, beans etc. but for me, those are easier to grow.


Leave a Reply

